Distant Reading for European Literary History. A COST Action

Distant Reading for European Literary History. A COST Action Christof Schöch (schoech@uni-trier.de), University of Trier, Germany and Maciej Eder (maciej.eder@ijp.pan.pl), Institute of Polish Language, Polish Academy of Sciences, Kraków, Poland and Carolin Odebrecht (carolin.odebrecht@hu-berlin.de), Humboldt-Universität Berlin, Germany and Mike Kestemont (mike.kestemont@gmail.com), University of Antwerp, Belgium and Antonija Primorac (antonija.primorac@uniri.hr), University of Rijeka, Croatia and Justin…

Read More

A Graphical User Interface for LDA Topic Modeling

A Graphical User Interface for LDA Topic Modeling Steffen Pielström (pielstroem@biozentrum.uni-wuerzburg.de), University of Würzburg, Germany and Severin Simmler (severin.simmler@stud-mail.uni-wuerzburg.de), University of Würzburg, Germany and Thorsten Vitt (thorsten.vitt@uni-wuerzburg.de), University of Würzburg, Germany and Fotis Jannidis (fotis.jannidis@uni-wuerzburg.de), University of Würzburg, Germany XML Using LDA (Latent Dirichlet Allocation) for analyzing the content structure of digital text collections is…

Read More

Educational Bridges: Understanding Conservation Dynamics in the Amazon through The Calha Norte Portal

Educational Bridges: Understanding Conservation Dynamics in the Amazon through The Calha Norte Portal Hannah Mabel Reardon (hannahmreardon@gmail.com), McGill University, Canada XML Calha Norte is the northernmost region of the Brazilian Amazon, and the largest mosaic of protected areas in the world, encompassing nearly 14 million hectares. Given the vastness of this area, government enforcement of…

Read More

Perspectivas Digitales y a Gran Escala en el Estudio de Revistas Culturales de los Espacios Hispánico y Lusófono

Perspectivas Digitales y a Gran Escala en el Estudio de Revistas Culturales de los Espacios Hispánico y Lusófono Ventsislav Ikoff (vikoff@uoc.edu), Open University of Catalonia, Spain and Laura Fólica (lfolica@uoc.edu), Open University of Catalonia, Spain and Diana Roig Sanz (dsanzr@uoc.edu), Open University of Catalonia, Spain and Hanno Ehrlicher (hanno.ehrlicher@uni-tuebingen.de), University of Tübingen, Germany and Teresa…

Read More

Project Management For The Digital Humanities

Project Management For The Digital Humanities Natalia Ermolaev (nataliae@princeton.edu), Princeton University, United States of America and Rebecca Munson (rmunson@princeton.edu), Princeton University, United States of America and Xinyi Li (xinyili@princeton.edu), Princeton University, United States of America and Lynne Siemens (siemensl@uvic.ca), University of Victoria, Canada and Ray Siemens (siemens@uvic.ca), University of Victoria, Canada and Micki Kaufman (mickikaufman@gmail.com),…

Read More

An Ontological Model for Inferring Psychological Profiles and Narrative Roles of Characters

An Ontological Model for Inferring Psychological Profiles and Narrative Roles of Characters Mattia Egloff (mattia.egloff@unil.ch), University of Lausanne, Switzerland and Antonio Lieto (lieto@di.unito.it), University of Turin and ICAR-CNR and Davide Picca (davide.picca@unil.ch), University of Lausanne, Switzerland XML 1. Introduction The modelling of the inner world of narrative characters and the ability to capture and formally…

Read More

Modeling Linked Cultural Events: Design and Application

Modeling Linked Cultural Events: Design and Application Kaspar Beelen (k.beelen@uva.nl), University of Amsterdam, Netherlands, The and Ivan Kisjes (i.kisjes@uva.nl), University of Amsterdam, Netherlands, The and Julia Noordegraaf (j.j.noordegraaf@uva.nl), University of Amsterdam, Netherlands, The and Harm Nijboer (harm.nijboer@huygens.knaw.nl), Huygens Institute for the History of the Netherlands, Netherlands, The and Thunnis van Oort (T.vanOort@uva.nl), University of Amsterdam,…

Read More

SSK by example. Make your Arts and Humanities research go standard

SSK by example. Make your Arts and Humanities research go standard Marie Puren (marie.puren@inria.fr), Inria and Laurent Romary (laurent.romary@inria.fr), Inria, Centre Marc Bloch and Lionel Tadjou (lionel.tadonfouet@inria.fr), Inria and Charles Riondet (charles.riondet@inria.fr), Inria and Dorian Seillier (dorian.seillier@inria.fr), Inria XML Arts and Humanities research has to address new challenges raised by the increasing amount of digital…

Read More

Monroe Work Today: Unearthing the Geography of US Lynching Violence

Monroe Work Today: Unearthing the Geography of US Lynching Violence (Monroe Work Hoy en Día: Desenterrar la geografía de la violencia linchamieno de EEUU) RJ Ramey (rj@findauut.com), Auut Studio, United States of America XML MonroeWorkToday.org, launched in November 2016, is a digital history project that synthesizes current historical research on the scope of American lynchings.…

Read More